Let’s Arts and Crafts!

Supplies.  Jar, sand, and water beads purchased from a crafts store (Michael’s, in this case).

Sacrifice.

The plant would be too big, so I trimmed most of it away.

Putting things in.  A few bits of metal tubing for extra decoration.

Pouring in beads.

Inserting figure.

More beads, and making sure the jar will still close.

Pouring in water.

A bit too much water.

Final product.

The beads came in different colors, and in hindsight, I probably should have went with blue ones to give it more of an ‘underwater’ feel.  A bigger jar would have probably been better, too, so the ‘floating’ effect would be better.  But this only cost about $12 in stuff and there’s always next time!

12 thoughts on “Let’s Arts and Crafts!

  1. This has been surprisingly entertaining. Is it possible to see more posts of arts and crafts in the future?

    • I’m not really much of a crafty person, so I rarely do anything like this. I think the last time I did anything that involved buying stuff from a crafts store was when I spruced up that craft coffin two and a half years ago or so.

    • I thought about Cirno, since the visibility of the beads can be seen as a sort of ‘ice’ effect, but I actually do things with my Cirno, unlike that Z’gok.

  2. Real clever use or those jello bead things. Every time I see them I want to eat one. I’m surprised just how well they disappear when you add water!

  3. Wait, those water beads dissolve upon pouring water? <- obviously never used them

    The dissolved beads gave the water a more, aqueous look. Wonder, how long will that Z'gok be staying in there?

    • They’re just plastic beads that’ll absorb water, like silica gel, I think, though not toxic. They don’t dissolve, you can even still sort of see them in the jar, and they’re holding the Z’gok in place. They just sorta disappear in water. Not sure the exact science behind it, though.

      I’ll probably leave it in there as long as it doesn’t start getting nasty, which hopefully the jar’s design will prevent from happening.

        • Apparently they’re mainly used as a way to keep arranged flowers watered without having to keep a vase full of actual water, as the flowers would normally absorb the water from the beads over time. But they also have obvious decorative uses!

Leave a Reply

