New Old Arrival: Luxg Girl (Mini Black version)

makipost01One idea I’ve kinda been kicking around in my head for a while now was to go back and start re-doing some of the “New Arrival” posts that I did in the past, because most of them suck pretty badly.  Especially the early ones that only had a few pictures each.  However, this was mostly just an idea for whenever I felt I was in some desperate need for some content for the blog, which has yet to be the case.

But then, I switched websites, and now it is actually a bit more prudent to go ahead and re-do some of those posts.  Then I can delete them from the Blogspot and not have to compete with myself for Google searches.

I still don’t know how much of this I’ll do, and I certainly won’t do all of them, since most of them were figures no one really cares about or already over-exposed enough.

In this case, though, I wanted to re-do the post for this figure specifically because it is a rather obscure figure with a number of curious points, and is one of the posts I felt was more useful to actually keep around.

This figure is the 1/12th Luxg Girl, Mini Black version.  Luxg Girl was a rather short-lived and small line from Aizu Project, with designs by BABYsue, the designer behind the Pinky Street series of figures.  There were only four figures made; two different sculpts in the same pose but wearing different outfits, and each sculpt had two paint schemes.  All four of them can be seen here: http://myfigurecollection.net/search.php?title=Luxury+Girl

I originally got mine back in the summer of 2009, having pre-ordered one.  It ran for 2,800 yen back then, which is pretty steep considering what you get (and even more ridiculous now), but I’ve seen some of the four versions go on sale for various prices since then.  I had ordered from HLJ.

Front and back views.  As you can see, the figure sports a real chain belt and some shiny bits on her dress.  Having a loose, moveable chain like that seems like it would be a questionable idea, but it doesn’t seem to be a particularly hard metal and I haven’t had any issues with it messing up the paint job or anything like that.

The figure isn’t terrible.  I feel the sculpting is pretty nicely done with good detailing on the clothing and body structure, and I especially like the hair.  However, it does have a number of problems that make the price it had rather questionable, namely the size of the figure.  Another obvious one is that amazingly lame base.

Right and left side views.

Close-up of the face.  This is where some more of the figure’s issues start showing up.  For the most part, the paint job is done well enough.  The dress has some wonderfully subtle highlights, the hair is marvelous, and the skin even has some extremely subtle toning.  But other areas…  Her face is one such area.  Her lips are a bit haphazard and the eyes seem like they didn’t come out quite right.  On the up side, it’s much less noticable in normal viewing conditions.  The lips also have a bit of a gloss to them, so they at least shine a bit.

Up close with the torso, chain, and rhinestones.  The chain and stones are a curious touch, but I believe this was supposed to be a sort of fashionable series of figures.  I can’t help but wonder if maybe the stones are contributing to the price by actually being diamonds or something.

A nice, good look at that plain base.  But more importantly, the figure’s main flaw (other than size/price).  The paint job on straps of her shoes are pretty horrible.  It’s kinda surprising, really, as nothing else on the figure is that bad.  It could be a fluke, but from the one official shot that seems to be out there, the official one seems to have the same issue.

So, considering that this is such an odd and obscure figure, you’re probably wondering why I got it in the first place and went as far as to pre-order it.

Well, mainly because it’s very obviously based on one of BABYsue’s Pinky Street figures, Maki.  Maki happens to be one of my favorite Pinkys, so I decided to take the chance.  There’s a bit of difference in the outfit’s details, but it’s otherwise the same.  The hair being different isn’t actually inaccurate, either.  There’s a repaint of the Pinky Maki that has hair with that color (and a white dress, matching the White Mini Luxg Girl).  I think would have liked it better if the dark brown hair was on this one instead of the other Luxg Girl sculpt, but the other outfit was far more boring and isn’t the same as the Pinky Maki’s alternate outfit that she came with.

This picture also brings up an interesting point, going back to that price.  Pinky Maki only has a bit less mass than the Luxg Girl, but also came with a whole second outfit, which is basically a second body, and a few minor accessories.  Pinky Maki only costs 680 yen.  And her shoe straps are better painted.  I’m vaguely aware that paint apps are one of the things that play the biggest role in driving up the cost of a figure, but I don’t think I’ll ever truly understand how the industry works.

Here’s a size comparison with a generic Figma, since I imagine most of you wouldn’t have Pinkys of your own to help you get an idea of how big (or small) the Luxg Girl is.  But it’s not like it was an unknown factor, being that it’s 1/12th.  Except for the eyes, the figure seems to have more realistic proportions than most animu girls.

By the way, the figure has black panties.  This is consistent with the Pinky Maki.  Also, for some reason the inside of the skirt isn’t fully painted, but that generally makes sense.

“Would you like to become a Figma?”

I wish I knew more about this line, as in how it came to be and what the goals were.  I don’t know if there were ever plans to do more Luxg Girls, but I think even after this one I might have been inclined to get one if it had an outfit I liked.  I don’t even know if the line was considered a success or failure, but I think it might have done better at a larger scale, maybe at least 1/8th or so.  Then they could have put more work into the fashion details and perhaps have better paint jobs with a higher and more acceptable price point.

9 thoughts on “New Old Arrival: Luxg Girl (Mini Black version)

  1. Pingback: Polymer Chaos #49: Makeover « Polymer Chaos

  2. Out of all of your older stuff that made random appearances in photos, this interested me the most. It nice to get some background on it. What no Takaloka?

    • I don’t think I’d be opposed to doing stuff like this on occassion on request, if anyone wanted to know more about any particular figure in my collection.

      Takoluka doesn’t always work! I don’t think I would have done a good Takoluka shot with Maki.

  3. I thought we were done with the old stuff here.

    Anyways, this thing is tiny, I seen small figures but never a 1/12th that’s a first. Although I must say I really like that pose and I will copy it, for my dollfie or something.

    This reminds me, while your old stuff had a lot of things I didn’t get like the silly Blizzard stuff I really liked the RNN segments.

    • New pictures and new words! It’s like new, like a gutted game from Gamestop!

      I’ve seen a few other static figures at this scale, some Metal Gear Solid ones, but not much else.

      Excellent, not making sense is a great indicator that my belief that most of my comics suck is correct!

  4. So THAT’s where those little figures are from. I was wondering where they while I read some of your old stuff that you posted when you moved… EVERY SINGLE ONE MANUALLY… There had to be an easier way, then again it’s too late to do anything about it.

    As for the figure itself, she looks pretty good really. To me 2,800 yen doesn’t sound too bad but then again I have no idea how small figure like that go for, other than figma anyway. The shoe straps do look pretty bad but maybe they look better when it’s not upclose?

    You have a bunch of stuff I didn’t even know existed Hamstercorp. New site’s looking good!

    • Yep, all those Pinky Street figures. Though, you could have just asked…!

      There was a blog import function, but it didn’t do what I wanted and I needed to make minor edits to every comic anyways, so MANUALLY REPOSTAN

      It doesn’t look bad from a distance, no, but since it’s a small figure it kind of subconsciously encourages one to look at it more closely, to see the details. Also, when she came out, a typical Figma was still running only 2,500 yen, and Figmas have all those joints and parts and accessories and such. The world of figure manufacturing works in mysterious ways.

      A few years back my collection got pretty damn diverse, in large part thanks to /toy/. It’s a bit less so now, though, but I still have quite the variety of things.

      • I didn’t want to ask because I wasn’t sure if they were something embarrassing! What if they were Polly Pockets or something. (Unless you’re into those too then it’s not embarrassing at all!)

        • I think if I was embarrassed about them, I wouldn’t be posting pictures of them on the Internet…

          At least they’re not ponies.

          Interesting side note: the Pinky Street franchise seems to explicitly acknowledge that its fanbase is made of both little girls (presumably) and otaku collectors. There’s two Pinky OVA’s out there, the first one starts a normal elementary-ish age girl that has a few Pinkys that she plays with. The second stars an adult male otaku that collects Pinkys among other things. It’s kinda weird.

Leave a Reply

